Board Members

Board Members

Current and former Board members and trustees with Brendan Nelson with Dr. Brendan Nelson AO

Board of Directors & Foundation Members

The General Douglas MacArthur Brisbane Memorial Foundation Ltd is managed by a Board of Directors and Foundation Members.

Board of Directors

Mr Chris Johnson

Chris has been involved with the Museum for over ten years, initially as Honorary Treasurer and more recently as a member of the Board. Chris is a Chartered Accountant and a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. He retired as a partner in PwC 2011 and has since held a number of board and committee roles.

Captain Andrew Craig

RAN (Rtd)
Andrew Craig retired from the RAN after 30 years service as a seaman officer and helicopter pilot. His second career included the following positions, CEO of the Queensland Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Queensland Commissioner - the Americas (based in Los Angeles) and Agent-General for Queensland (London). He join the Board of the MacArthur Museum in 2014.

Mr John Forsythe

John is a Partner with PwC Australia. He is based in Brisbane and has a focus on Technology and Healthcare. He is a dual citizen of Australia and the United States, and is an avid student of history. John is a graduate of the School of Foreign Service at Georgetown University, and has an MBA from the University of NSW (AGSM).

Mr Allan Pidgeon

In 2019, Allan joined the MacArthur Foundation as a Director. Allan is also President of the National Flag Association (Qld), a Trustee of the Lord Mayor's Charitable Trust, and a Director of the Queensland Private Enterprise Centre (allied with Griffith University Business School).

Major John Wright

RFD (Rtd)
Major John Wright first became an Executive Officer for the MacArthur Museum in 2013, and then a Managing Director in 2019.

Mr Andrew Butcher

Andrew joined the MacArthur Foundation as a director in 2019 having worked with and in providing support for the MacArthur Museum for a number of years. Andrew is the Managing Director of the SignSite Group operating in Australia and The United States. Andrew has a keen interest in Brisbane, it's rich history and the story of Brisbane at war.

Alicia Doherty

Alicia has served on the board of The American Club, Sydney, and was President of the Australian American Association in Canberra. Her father was a US Marine and she served in the US Army as a UH-1H Helicopter Repairer and Aviation Life Support Equipment Specialist.

Professor Charles Sampford

Professor Charles Sampford is the Foundation Dean of Law and Research Professor in Ethics at Griffith University. He brings a deep knowledge of strategic planning, extensive governance work, and grant management to the Board.

Foundation Members

Foundation Secretary

Lt Col John Dwyer

AM (Rtd)
John has been with the Foundation since it was formed in 1998. He took on the task of the first Executive Officer, responsible for the fundraising and building of the Museum until it opened in 2004 when he then moved to a Director’s position. Prior to this he served in the ADF as in Infantry and SAS Officer for 25 years. On leaving the Army he took on various roles such as a Local government Councillor and risk Management consulting. John is the immediate past Foundation Secretary.

Mr Geoffrey Thomas

Geoferry Thomas AO is a major benefactor, trustee and foundation member of MacArthur Museum Brisbane.

Mr Stuart Mackay

Foundation Secretary
Stuart joins the Foundation Board as Secretary for the Genral Douglas MacArthur Brisbane Memorial Foundation Ltd. Stuart is a volunteer at the MacArthur Museum Brisbane having joined as a volunteer in 2017. Stuart also works as a Microsoft Trainer for a number of clients in the Brisbane regional area.

Book Online

May 2022